Shayna Carolyn Art Update

Here we go .. I have not posted in a while, so I am here to make up for it with something that will hopefully inspire you. I want to share a few of my drawings from within the past year. These first two are a little bit older, and the ones after are more recent.

ImageThis is a graphite drawing of Charles Bukowski from 2011. Charles has always been a major source of my inspiration. If you haven’t read any of his books, I suggest looking up some of his quotes, as I find them to be rather insightful. I have drawn him several times throughout the past few months. This one ended up as a gift for a friend of mine.

 

ImageJean Hackman ! aka Denim God ! aka King ! aka Julian ……. this was fun. I wanted to draw a portrait of the leader of the Holy Stitch! cult, so I photographed him and then sketched out this drawing in about an hour. I want to do another one, but bigger and better. I like the way this turned out though. I think I captured his personality pretty well.

ImageI drew this after finding the original vintage photograph online and I felt like it would be really fun to work on. I loved the way the women looked so tough, as if they were ready for war, ready for battle, ready to take on whatever came their way. I have always valued images of strong women, compared to those of the vulnerable, mindless, sex objects that many women become when they pose for certain fashion advertisements. While it is not always necessary to have weapons, it would be nice to see more of this in the fashion world !! More tough ladies flexing their strength !!!!

ImageOkay, last one. I titled this drawing, “I Hope You’ll Forgive Me” … For several meanings, I suppose.

Anyway … I hope you enjoyed this. I would love to hear some feedback if you have anything good or bad to say. Let me know what you think !!! Thanks for reading.

-Shayna Carolyn

Leave a Reply

